Houston Forward Times

09 July 2014 Written by  Forward Times Staff

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Incorporated Houston Metropolitan Alumnae Chapter Presents Nine Debutantes in... A Midsummer Night's Dream

maya smithmichaela jeffersonalexis nicholsmichaela leverettchasity mcfarlandapril hill-jacksonjasmyn treadwelljah-nii munoztrina bean

The Houston Metropolitan Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Incorporated culminated the 2014 Debutante Season by presenting nine beautiful and accomplished young ladies in an elegant setting depicting a dreamy summer night on Sunday June 29, 2014, at the Houston Marriott Westchase Hotel.

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority was founded in 1913 on the campus of Howard University. The organization is a public service sorority embracing National initiatives and programs that all chapters implement. In addition to these initiatives, many local chapters develop additional projects in the local community. The Houston Metropolitan Alumnae Chapter was chartered in 1974 and has been presenting young ladies to society since 1985.

The 2014 debutantes represent young women from outstanding families in Harris, Brazoria and Fort Bend Counties. Members of the 2014 debutante court are Ms. Trina Nechelle Bean, daughter of Mr. & Mrs. Darrell Bean; Ms. April Rose Hill-Jackson, daughter of Mr. Bowen Jackson Jr. & Dr. Valerie Hill-Jackson; Ms. Michaela Evelyn Jefferson, daughter of Mrs. Antrina Cooper & Mr. Michael Jefferson and presented by her grandfather Mr. Charles Ray Cooper; Ms. Michaela Eunice Leverett, daughter of Mr. & Mrs. Michael Leverett; Ms. Chasity Jean McFarland, daughter of Mr. & Mrs. Gene McFarland; Ms. Jah-Nii Adjinae-Nellissa Munoz, daughter of Mrs. Rosa Cole & Mr. John Lewis Munoz and presented by her brother Mr. Derrius Maddox; Ms. Alexis Dominique Nichols, daughter of Mr. & Mrs. Chester Nichols; Ms. Maya Aleece Smith, daughter of Ms. Dana Burns Smith & Mr. Chester L. Smith, Jr.; and Ms. Jasmyn Alexandra Treadwell, daughter of Mr. & Mrs. Derrek Treadwell.

Debutante activities for 2013-2014 began with "Destination Debutante" a series of workshops to enhance personal growth and development. The formal Debutante Season began with a Holiday Tea held at the home of Mr. and Mrs. Dave Moss of Sugar Land, Texas. Debutantes participated in presentations, an etiquette workshop, and an elegant coming out event hosted by debutantes and their relatives. The debutantes were honorees in a Reception held at the Junior League of Houston on Sunday, June 22nd.   During the reception, each debutante received memorable gifts and a scholarship.

Mrs. Shirley Johnson is President of the Houston Metropolitan Alumnae Chapter. The General Chair of the 2014 Debutante Ball is Ms. Courtney Smith. Co-Chairs are Mrs. Patricia Allison, Ms. Jacquelyn Blossom, Mrs. Barbara Branch, Ms. Pamela Cashaw, Mrs. Terri Lynch, Mrs. Daphne Moss, and Mrs. Shaundra B. Simmons. The choreographer for the Cotillion was Mrs. Muriel Jackson.

MAA WereReady