In Sports

CynthiaTexas Southern men’s basketball coach Mike Davis has been chosen as one of twenty finalists for the 2013 Ben Jobe Award.

CynthiaTexas Southern University head women’s basketball coach Cynthia Cooper-Dyke has announced the signing of her 1st Lady Tigers recruiting class.

Keiana Vines (Oxnard, California), Victoria Wells (Los Angeles, California), Tashara Jones (Douglasville, Georgia), Ashley Ferguson (Arlington, Texas) and Jazzmin Parker (Houston, Texas) signed a National Letter of Intent (NLI) during the early signing period to continue their education and basketball careers at Texas Southern University.

GrinerBaylor’s Preseason National Player of the Year Brittney Griner returned home to Houston to face the Rice Owls in a non-conference game and she recorded 35 points, 9 rebounds, and four blocks in a 89-49 victory.

It was Griner’s first appearance in Houston as a Lady Bear and with her performance, Griner reached 1,000 rebounds for her career and became just the fifth Lady Bear to haul down 1,000 boards. Her 35 points scored against Rice, gave her 87 straight games of scoring in double-figures and 117 out of 119 games in her career.


Texas A&M first-year head coach Kevin Sumlin and his “Johnny Football” led Aggies were overlooked by the Capital One Bowl organizers, but that didn’t stop them from becoming one of four Texas teams to be invited to play in a college bowl game during the postseason.

CooperThe Attucks Apaches led by point guard Kaylon Paley and forward Juwan Brown scored 15 and 20 points each to help their team capture the 30th Annual Ralph Cooper “Stars of the Future” Middle School Basketball Tournament Championship with a 47-33 victory over the Ryan Cubs at Chavez High School.

Attucks defeated HCYA, Westbury Christian, and Missouri City to get to the championship game. Ryan, who was led by Yeskin Williams, defeated The Imani School, Cullen and Dowling to reach the championship.

Ralph Cooper, the Sports Director at KCOH Radio Station, continues to touch young people’s lives by   putting on this middle school tournament for the past thirty years. There has never been an entry fee charged and various sports celebrities and local area businessmen have donated money to go towards awards, banners and trophies.


Untitled document


Untitled document


Untitled document



Untitled document


Subscribe to the Forward Times

Untitled document



Untitled document

Latest comments